Arts news and views

ArtSnob is your site for fast postings of Daily News reviews, local art happenings and reader feedback.

Drop your comments here, e-mail us at, or call Arts and Entertainment editor Mike Dunham at (907)-257-4332 or toll-free in Alaska, 800-478-4200, ext. 332.

2 for 1 deal for new musical premiere - 1/7/2013 5:11 pm

'Troyens' repeats Sunday - 1/6/2013 10:19 am

FIRST FRIDAY RAMBLES: Treasures at Two Friends - 1/5/2013 10:53 am

REVIEW: 'FREUD'S LAST SESSION' - 1/4/2013 10:49 am

New CIRQUE is out - 1/3/2013 2:08 pm

Bald soprano to be seen in Anchorage - 1/2/2013 9:50 am

Photographer Mishler looking for Kickstarter boost - 1/1/2013 3:09 pm

REVIEW: 'LAST DAY ON EARTH' - 12/22/2012 2:01 pm

Dauenhauer new State Writer Lauerate

Nora Marks Dauenhauer: Photo: APNora Marks Dauenhauer: Photo: AP
Tlingit poet, playwright, historian and linguist Nora Marks Dauenhauer of Juneau has been named the new Alaska State Writer Laureate. With her husband, Richard Dauenhauer, she has written important collections of Tlingit oratory and oral histories. The Dauenhauer’s won an American Book Award for “Russians in Tlingit America: The Battles of Sitka, 1802 and 1804.” One of her short poems was featured in New York subways as part of a project to place contemporary poetry before mass audiences.

Dauenhauer, born in 1927 in Syracuse, N.Y. to parents from Yakutat and Hoonah, will hold the post for two years.

In the press release announcing Dauenhauer’s selection, the Alaska State Council on the Arts also presented the recipients of this year’s Governor’s Awards for the Arts and Humanities. Shishmaref educator John “Sinnaq” Sinnok will receive the award for arts education. Sinnok is known for teaching traditional crafts and also as a teacher of the Inupiaq language.

Valley Performing Arts of Wasilla, whose next play, “Deathtrap,” opens on Oct. 12, will receive the award for Arts Organization. VPA’s Executive Director, Garry Forrester, noted with glee that a longtime supporter of the company, Gail Niebrugge of Palmer, won the award for Individual Artist. Niebrugge is known for depicting scenes from central Alaska in a somewhat pointillistic style.

Susie “Qimmiqsak” Bevins-Ericsen, a contemporary artist originally from Barrow and now living in Anchorage, will receive the award for Native Arts.

Sven Haakanson, Jr., Executive Director of the Alutiiq Museum and Archaeological Repository in Kodiak and a winner of the distinguished MacArthur Fellowship — sometimes called the “Genius Award” — will receive one of three awards for Distinguished Service to the Humanities.

The Alaska Native Heritage Center in Anchorage will also be honored, as will Carol Swartz, the founder of the Kachemak Bay Writers’ Conference in Homer.

The awards, sponsored by the Alaska Humanities Forum, the Alaska State Council on the Arts and the Office of the Governor, will be presented at a gala dinner at the Hotel Captain Cook on Oct. 18. The event is open to the public and tickets are $85. Registration is available online at

© Copyright 2011, The Anchorage Daily News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service