Woody on Hockey

Alaska is hockey heaven -- the Alaska Aces are perennial ECHL contenders, the UAA Seawolves play in the nation's premier college league and NHL star Scott Gomez headlines a contingent of pros. Join the conversation about the Aces and Alaska hockey with Doyle Woody, who has covered the game here at all levels for 29 years.

Contact: dwoody@adn.com

Here's a historically encouraging way of looking at UAA's WCHA series in Grand Forks - 10/25/2012 3:43 pm

Aces: Ambroz released (Plus, Courchaine note) - 10/25/2012 1:26 pm

Aces: Gee, those are some decent linemates Imbeault just got; plus, numbers changes - 10/25/2012 10:45 am

Aces add a defenseman in fourth-year pro Alain Goulet - 10/25/2012 9:59 am

A bunch of Alaska connections play in the Austrian League where Alexandre Imbeault began the season - 10/24/2012 5:41 pm

Man, UAA's Early Schedule Is Odd - 10/24/2012 5:07 pm

Former Aces Center Imbeault Is Now Current Aces Center Imbeault (UPDATED) - 10/24/2012 1:16 pm

North Pole's Copley Is WCHA Rookie Of The Week - 10/23/2012 12:19 pm

Aces D-Man Bryan Miller Is First-Team All-ECHL...

Congrats to Alaska Aces defenseman Bryan Miller, the veteran who today was named First-Team All-ECHL in a vote of the league's coaches, broadcasters, media and media relations directors.

Miller, 29, who has undergone four shoulder surgeries -- two on each side -- has not only been remarkably durable this season (he's the only Ace to play in all 70 games), but also his usual productive self.

In those 70 games, the alternate captain has racked 10-34--44 totals -- that ties his career high for goals and marks career highs for assists and points. Miller was second-team All-ECHL last season, when he helped the Aces to the Kelly Cup.

The Aces have landed at least one player on first-team All-ECHL in seven of their nine seasons on the circuit.

Also, Aces first-year coach Rob Murray was one of two bench bosses who are part of the first team. Below is the list of first-teamers, straight from the league's press release issued moments ago:

PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL on Thursday announced its All-ECHL First Team for 2011-12 as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media, who were asked to select a goaltender, two defensemen and three forwards.

2011-12 All-ECHL First Team
G – Jeff Jakaitis, Gwinnett Gladiators (26 gp, 18-5-3, 2.03 GAA, .930 save pct.)
D – Bryan Miller, Alaska Aces (70 gp, 10g, 34a, 44 pts., +3)
D – Aaron Schneekloth, Colorado Eagles (70 gp, 20g, 41a, 61 pts., Even)
F – Chad Costello, Colorado Eagles (47 gp, 29g, 47a, 76 pts., +21)
F – Dustin Gazley, Elmira Jackals (70 gp, 23g, 58a, 81 pts., +13)
F – Eric Lampe, Las Vegas Wranglers (50 gp, 36g, 27a, 63 pts., +19)
Coaches – Rob Murray, Alaska Aces and John Wroblewski, Gwinnett Gladiators

© Copyright 2011, The Anchorage Daily News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service