Share your Exxon Valdez stories

The grounding of the Exxon Valdez, and the subsequent oil spill, changed Alaska history and affected Alaskans in countless ways. To commemorate it, we're collecting the stories of Alaskans touched in some way by this pivotal events.

Share your stories, and photos. Please stay on topic.

1     March 4, 2009 - 5:31pm |

Exxon Valdez 20th Anniversary Memoir

The following piece is an account of my first experience of the spill. I am a biologist who was hired by the state in 1989 to help direct cleanup and design and manage damage assessment studies. I spent quite a bit of time in the spill-affected area from 1989 thru 1991. I then worked for DNR for over a decade designing and managing restoration projects paid for with funds from the settlement.
Art Weiner, Ph.D

-----

The helicopter landed on an open, sandy area above the high tide line. We sat in the cabin waiting for the rotors to stop rotating. Through the canopy shone a brightly illuminated landscape of extraordinary beauty. The calm waters of Prince William Sound reflected the snow-capped mountains that surround the Sound like a gem-studded tiara on the head of a lovely queen. In the distance, islands blanketed with emerald green spruce rose out of the sea.

We slowly climbed out of the helicopter only to find that this stunning vision was a mirage, a fa├žade that disguised an ugly reality. With our first breath, we were put on notice that there was something terribly wrong. The crystal clear air harbored noxious vapors not unlike those of the exhaust fumes from a badly tuned car. We were breathing an atmosphere contaminated by the volatile gases that were evaporating from the viscous substance trapped beneath our feet. We had just stepped into hydrocarbon hell.