The Pebble Blog

The gigantic Pebble copper and gold prospect in Southwest Alaska is one of the touchiest topics in Alaska today.

In this blog, I'll track news that is significant or interesting about the Pebble project. I'll also try to generate discussion and information sharing about some of the claims and counterclaims about the project, and mining in general.

Please keep your comments courteous and on topic. If you violate the ADN comment policy, your posts will be deleted.

------------------------------------------------

About Elizabeth Bluemink ebluemink@adn.com

I've been writing about mining in Alaska since 2004 and without a doubt, it is one of the most interesting topics that I cover at the Daily News. I've been a newspaper reporter for the past 10 years. In the Deep South, I specialized in reporting about environmental conflicts and pollution cleanups. For two years, I covered commercial fishing, mining and logging in Southeast Alaska. In my current job as a Daily News business reporter, I write about mining, tourism, Native corporations and other businesses.

Pebble and the volcano (updated) - 4/19/2010 11:49 am

Lawyers debate Pebble - 4/15/2010 5:12 pm

New geology report on Pebble - 4/8/2010 1:45 pm

An independent study of Pebble? - 4/6/2010 9:50 am

APOC drills into anti-Pebble election spending - 2/26/2010 12:06 pm

New profile of Pebble foe Bob Gillam - 2/24/2010 11:02 am

Pebble, villages, fuel - 2/18/2010 4:03 pm

Pebble water-use violations - 2/15/2010 5:26 pm

Tuesday night's election story

Folks:
Just fyi, I confirmed today that I didn't give Bob Gillam's entire contribution to the "Yes" vote ballot group, Alaskans for Clean Water, in the story I wrote on Tuesday night about the vote results.

I left out a $250,000 contribution that occurred on July 8 that was on one part of the APOC web site, where scanned reports are stored, but not in the main database.