Iditarod Live: The Sled Blog

Polar bear patrol with Sebastian Schnuelle - 11/15/2012 6:09 pm

Seavey on why he sued: 'I feel like I'm doing the right thing' - 5/22/2012 5:14 pm

Jonrowe wins dog care award; Mackey honored for sportsmanship - 3/18/2012 9:44 pm

Happy trails - 3/16/2012 2:47 pm

Third-place Ramey Smyth: 'I almost didn't get to the start line' - 3/16/2012 7:15 am

Meet the Sled Dogs: Colleen & Penny - 3/15/2012 7:09 pm

WATCH: Rapping dog musher finishes Iditarod, raps about the race - 3/15/2012 3:37 pm

Mackey: 'It wasn't the stellar performance I was expecting' - 3/15/2012 12:47 pm

Jonrowe wins dog care award; Mackey honored for sportsmanship

From Kyle Hopkins in Anchorage --

Just a quick note to pass along the winners of the coveted humanitarian award for best dog care (DeeDee Jonrowe) and other honors tonight at the finishers' banquet in Nome.

Pen Air Spirit of Alaska Award - Aliy Zirkle

GCI Dorothy G. Page Halfway Award – Jim Lanier

Wells Fargo Bank Alaska Gold Coast Award - Aliy Zirkle

Nome Kennel Club Fastest Time from Safety to Nome Award - Mike Williams, Jr.

Horizon Lines Most Improved Musher Award - Rohn Buser

Jerry Austin Rookie of the Year – Brent Sass

Fred Meyer Sportsmanship Award – Lance Mackey

ExxonMobil Mushers Choice Award - Dan Seavey

Northern Air Cargo Herbie Nayokpuk Memorial Award – Michelle Phillips

Golden Clipboard Award – Community of Nulato

Golden Stethoscope Award - Ruth Kothe, DVM and Tanja Kruse, DVM

Alaska Airlines Leonhard Seppala Humanitarian Award – DeeDee Jonrowe

City of Nome Lolly Medley Golden Harness Award Winner – Guinness – Dallas Seavey Lead Dog

Northern Air Cargo Four Wheeler Drawing Winner – Peter Kaiser

© Copyright 2011, The Anchorage Daily News. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Anchorage Daily News is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service